Half the Sky: Turning Oppression Into Opportunity for Women Worldwide

I absolutely love the truly inspirational movement which is Half the Sky, pioneered by Nick Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn.

Ever since reading their book: “Half the Sky”, and Somaly Mam’s book “The Road of Lost Innocence”, I have been even more determined and motivated to follow in their footsteps, but create my own path.

I study Vietnamese and Development Studies, but plan to steer my studies more towards South East Asia. Linguistically, I am currently studying Vietnamese and Thai. Next on my list are Viet and Thai dialects, and then Khmer and Burmese!

My aim is to work against human trafficking and advocate women’s right in SEA, and I don’t think that you can truly connect with anyone unless you are speaking in their mother tongue.

Definitely watch this Half the Sky program when it airs and check out the website: http://www.halftheskymovement.org/ – they have so many amazing resources and stories to start you off or help you to continue your journey.

Respond to Half the Sky: Turning Oppression Into Opportunity for Women Worldwide

Leave a Reply

